Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

September 20, 2021 Regular Board Meeting Minutes

October 12, 2021


                                                                             September 20, 2021            

                                                                               Regular Meeting                                                                     

The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its regular monthly meeting on Monday, September, 2021 at 5:15pm in the High School Media Center.  Board members present were Tony Condon; President, Gordon Juhl, Jeff Soper; Vice President, Duane Schnell, Sandy Fandel.  Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer,  Dave Schwartz - EDN, Connie Humble, Brand Nelson, Shane Kalous, Ron Smith, Derek Smith, Chelsey Smith, Mollie Borth, Amber Hall Jennie Knudson, Abby Schacherer, Adam Reiter, Amanda Sheda, Lori Smith, Gary Smith, Beth Wycoff, Morgan Guza, Jenica Arends, Joan Enochson, Nick Hogan, Bruce Guse, Penny Guse, Pamela Mittrucker, Laura Rosendahl, Jenele White, Matt Hoch, McKenzie Peta, Amanda Olson.   Zoom - Megan Miller, Stephanie Wheatley, Jenny Christensen (Zoom went down at 5:23 pm)


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Condon called the meeting to order at 5:15pm.  Board members present were Juhl, Soper, Schnell and Fandel.


Agenda Approval                                                                Motion by Schnell, second by Soper to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 5-0.


Public Input                                                                          Jennie Knudson spoke to the board regarding TK transportation.  Pam Mittrucker asked the board to reconsider the current in-town shuttle bus guidelines.  Ron Smith addressed the Board regarding changing transportation policy. Bruce Guse also asked the board to review the current transportation policy to reflect the needs and wants of parents.


Consent Agenda                                                                  Motion by Fandel, second by Juhl to approve the consent agenda as presented.                                                                Motion carried 5-0.            

                                                                                                Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

                                                                                                Minutes from the August 16, 2021 meeting.


Hires – Trevor Friesner, Demoney Teacher Associate, Nate                      Dunlavy, Asst Varsity Wrestling, Jennifer Brookhart, History                  Day Club Sponsor.  Resignations - Austin Amberly, Amy                  Ring-Rose.

Finance Reports                                        


Highlights                                                                              New Teachers were introduced by their TLC mentors.  ELC and Champion State of Mind (CSM) Partnership, THINKERS) - Adam Reiter & McKayla Larsen updated the board on their involvement in the schools.


Reports/Information                                                           Reports were informational.                                                       

Items for Action/Discussion             

New Business

FFA National Convention Request                                  Matt Schroeder, HS Ag Teacher, presented the FFA’s plans

to attend the National convention in

Motion by Juhl, second by Schnell to approve

FFA’s plans for the National FFA Convention.   Motion carried


Allowable Growth Special Education                             Motion by Soper, second by Fandel to approve

the petition for the SBRC for Allowance Growth in the area of

Special Education for $453,124.55. Motion carried 5-0.

2021-22 Salary Schedule Advancements                       Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to approve

                                                                                                the 21-22 Salary advancements as presented.  Motion carried


RWC Board Member Resignation                                   Mark Heywood has resigned from the RWC board, we

will need to find a community member replacement. 

Mark joined the board in 2008.  All RWC Board                                                       

                                                                             members are approved at the annual organizational  

meeting, we will hope to have a name for you by then.


Mark & Colette Heywood RWC Donation                  Mark and Colette Heywood have donated $25,000 to 

                                                                                       the RWC and would like to challenge the community                                  

                                                                                                to match the donation. 

Transportation and Open Enrollment Policy Appeal   The board reviewed policies 213.1R1 - General Complaints by

                                                                                                Citizens.  501.15 Open Enrollment Transfers, 711.1 Student

School Transportation Eligibility, 711.5 Transportation of Nonresident and Nonpublic School Students, 711.10 Bus Route Operations.  Chelsey & Derek Smith appealed to the school board regarding changing policy and bus routes to

allow their children(open enrolled students from North Union) to be transported to ELC schools.  Under Iowa guidelines, parents are responsible for transporting children openly enrolled to another district.  State law mandates that elementary children cannot be on a school bus longer than sixty minutes.  Currently, the ELC school district allows for open enrolled students within two miles of the district boundaries to ride, if  the pickup is on an established route and stays within the state mandate of elementary children being on the bus no longer than 60 minutes.

Transportation director Rick Gebel will do a time study on the Bus 4 route and see if that route can be adjusted to include the Smith students within the 60 minute timeframe as mandated by law.

Board member Juhl motioned that if the Bus 4 route time study was within the 60 minute time frame, the Smith stop could be added to the route, seconded by Soper.  Motion carried 5-0.

Closed Session - Confidential Records                           No closed session was held.


Adjournment – Motion by Fandel, second by Soper to adjourn the meeting at 6:57pm.   Motion carried 5-0.  The next regular meeting will be October 18, 2021 at 5:15pm.

« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.