Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Regular School Board Meeting

April 17, 2017


                                                                                                          April 17, 2017

                                                                                                         Regular Meeting

The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held a Regular Meeting on Monday, March 17, 2017 at 5:15pm in the High School Media Center.  Board members present were: Kathy Miller-Cornwall, President, Cory Hoyer, Vice President, Duane Schnell, Jodie Greig, Melissa Regelstad.   Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Frank Christenson, Ed Funston-KILR, Dave Swartz – EDN, Lili Jensen, David McCauley,  Brad Leonard, Andy Umthun, Robyn Swisher, Lindsi Franzen, Sarah Hanson, Beth Wycoff, Penny Clayton(5:49pm).


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                        President Cornwall called the regular meeting to order at 5:15PM.  Board                                                                                                           members present were Schnell, Hoyer, Greig, Regelstad.

Agenda Approval     

Motion by Schnell , second by Regelstad to approve the agenda with the addition of agenda with additional hires/resignations under Personnel and under New Business - Board Policy 102.  Motion carried 5-0.

Public Input                                                                          There was none.


Consent Agenda                                                                                                   Motion by Greig, second by Schnell to approve the consent agenda as presented.   Motion carried 5-0.            

 Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

 Minutes from the March 13, 2017  meetings.


Hires – Mr. Nick Gruhlke,Varsity Boy’s Basketball and  MS Special Ed, MA Step 9; Mr. Nate Hansen, Asst Girl’s Basketball, Mrs. Connie Humble, B/G Head Cross Country, Mr. Lincoln Vorba, Varsity Girls Track;  Mr. David Nitchals, Asst. Girls Basketball; Mr. David Nitchals, Asst. Girls Basketball; Mr. Gable Bonner, Asst Varsity B/G Track; Mr. Kyle Grems, Varsity Head Boys Tennis; Mrs. Michelle Frideres, TLC Mentor Teacher & TLC Model Teacher; Ms Jessica Ruse, TLC Mentor Teacher; Ms. Desiree Welty – TLC Model Teacher, Ms. Kayla Vermedahl, HS Math Teacher, BA Step 2; Ms. Amanda Zylstra, HS Math Teacher, BA Step 1; Mr. Dalton Clavarelli, MS Teacher, BA Step 1; Ms. Kelsie Christensen, TLC Model Teacher & PLC Leader; Ms. Connie Humble, TLC DLT; Mrs. Beth Wycoff, TLC Model Teacher; Ms. Connie Humble, TLC Model Teacher; Mrs. Taryn Crees – RWC Instructor; Ms. Sydney Swanson – P/T Program Helper.

Resignations – Mrs. Tina Burton, Girls Head Track/Cross Country; Mr. Gunnar Johnson – Track; Ms. Arielle Olson, Asst Varsity Girls Basketball ; Mr. Matt Gruhlke, Asst. Varsity Football; Mr. Austin Steichen, Asst. Varsity Football; Mr. Tony Klein, Varsity Boys Tennis; Mrs. Megan Anderson, Asst Girl’s Varsity Basketball; Mrs. Connie Humble, MS Girls Track; Ms. Lakoda Kelber, HS Ag & FFA; Mrs. Jennifer Poole, HS Math;  Ms. Abby Gardiner, Elementary Teacher.

Retirements – Mrs. Judy Grethen, Technology Tech; Mrs. Diane Origer, Elementary; Mrs. Donna Lauritsen, HS Math.

Leave of Absence Requests (1 Year) – Mrs. Barb Houseman, Mrs. Tina Burton


                Finance Reports – informational.                                                   

Highlights                                                                              Beth Wycoff, Lindsi Fransen, Sarah Hanson and Robyn Swisher explained the                                                                                                  Middle School Intervention Program.

Reports/Information                                                              Administrator reports were informational.

Items for Action/Discussion                                             

Unfinished Business           

 3rd  Reading Board Policies 507.5 to 508.2                 Motion by Hoyer, second by Greig to approve Board Policies

                                                                                                507.5 to 508.2 as presented.  Motion carried 5-0.

New Business

Board Policy 710.4 Meal Charges             

 Motion by Schnell, second by Greig to approve Policy 710.4  Meal Charges as  presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Board Policy 102 EEO                                                         Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to approve the                                                                                                                                                  revisions  to Board Policy102 as presented and to waive the 2-3rd                                                                                                                       readings.  Motion carried 5-0.

City of Estherville Aquatic Park Sites                                Penny Clayton discussed with the Board the proposed Aquatic                                                                                                                             Park and the possibility of  locating the site next to the RWC                                                                                                                                  or at Thoreson Park.  Mr. Robert Grems, RWC Director,  presented  to the                                                                                                           School Board  information on behalf of the RWC Board  that supports                                                                                                                 locating the Aquatic Center next to the RWC,  with the possibility of  a                                                                                                                 partnership between the RWC and the City Aquatic Center.

2017-18 Class Sizes                                                           Superintendent Paul presented projected class sizes for 2017-18.

Custodial Agreement & Group A                                        Motion by Hoyer, second by Regelstad  to approve  the 2017-18 Custodial                                                                                                       Agreement and Salary increases for Group A personnel. Motion carried 5-0. 

Adjournment – Motion by Schnell, second by Regelstad  to adjourn the meeting at 6:53pm.  Motion carried 5-0.  The next regular meeting will be May 15, 2017 at 5:15pm.                                                                                          .


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.