Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Public Hearing/Regular Meeting

April 20, 2020


                                                                                              April 20, 2020

                                                                               PUBLIC HEARING/REGULAR MEETING

The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held a Public Hearing and Regular Meeting on Monday, April 20, 2020 at 5:15pm in the High School Media Center.    Board members present were Tony Condon, President, Jeff Soper, Vice President, Sandy Fandel, Duane Schnell, and Gordon Juhl. Others present via Zoom - Shane Kalous, Frank Christenson, Robyn Swisher, Megan Miller, Lili Jensen, Connie Humble, Kyle Steffen, Anne Peters, Mindy Brechwald, Laura Rosendahl, Andrea Love, Jenny Christensen, Trish Ingham, Kathy Foster, Kyle Grems, Kris Weisman, Laura Giebler, Jessica Ruse, Rick Gebel.   Others present in the High School Library/Media Center were Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Ed Funston-KILR Radio, Jason Kollasch.




Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Condon called the public hearing to order at   5:10pm.   Board                                                                                                    members present were Fandel, Soper, Juhl, Schnell.

Approval of Agenda                                                           Motion by Fandel, second by Soper to approve the agenda as presented.                                                                                                 Motion carried 5-0


Public Input                                                                          None


Instructional Support Levy                                           Publication was presented.

Adjourn the Public Hearing                                               Motion by Schnell, second by Juhl to adjourn the public hearing at 5:11pm.                                                                                                Motion carried 5-0.

                                                                            REGULAR MEETING – 5:15P

Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Condon called the regular meeting to order at 5:15pm. Board                                                                                                    members present were Soper, Fandel, Juhl and Schnell.  

Agenda Approval                                                                Motion by Fandel, second by Schnell to approve the agenda with an                                                                                                          additional resignation under the consent agenda. Motion carried 5-0.

Public Input                                                                    None

Approval of Consent Agenda                                            Motion by Schnell second by Soper to approve the consent agenda as                                                                                                      follows:  Minutes from March 16 and March 30, 2020; Hires – Sara Harris –                                                                                              5th Grade, 20-21 TLC Positions; Resignations – Gable Bonner, Kyle Steffen-                                                                                           MS Wrestling, Alex Olesen-MS - 5th grade teacher ; Finance                                                                                                                      Reports.  

Highlights                                                                         DLT Members and Building Administrators on Wednesday Professional                                                                                                    Development.

Reports                                                                          Administrator reports were informational.

Items for Action/Discussion                                             

Instructional Support Levy                                                                            Motion by Soper, second by Fandel to approve ELC participating in the Instructional Support Levy for five years beginning 7.1.2021. President Condon read the resolution to participate. Roll Call Vote - Ayes: Schnell, Fandel, Juhl, Soper, Condon. Nays – None. Motion carried.


Agreement UFCW, Local #663 20-21, 21-22                                                  Motion by Schnell, second by Juhl to approve the two-year agreement with the United Food and Commercial Workers, Local #663 as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Group A Salary Proposal                                                                              Motion by Fandel, second by Soper to approve the Group A 20-21 Salary proposal as presented. Ayes – Schnell, Soper, Fandel, Condon. Abstain – Juhl. Motion carried  4 - Abstain 1.

Set Public Hearing Date for 20-21 Academic Calendar  

 Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to set May 18, 2020 at 5:10 for the Public Hearing on the proposed academic calendar.

2020 Graduate List                                                                                            Motion by Juhl, second by Soper to approve the 2020 graduate list, pending completion of required coursework, as presented.                                                Motion carried 5-0.

Closed Session  - Professional Competency of an Individual  

Motion by Schnell “Pursuant to Chapter 21 of the Iowa Code, I move that the ELC Community School Board move into closed session for the purpose of   evaluating the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual’s reputation and that individual requests a closed session.”

                Roll call vote - Ayes – Schnell, Fandel, Soper, Juhl, Condon. 

                                                           Nays – None. Motion carried.


Break                                                                                   6:29pm – 6:36pm

In Closed Session                                                                6:36pm – 7:30pm


Action from Closed Session    

 Motion by Fandel, second by Schnell to approve the Superintendent’s contract for a three-year term commencing 7.1.2020. Motion carried 5-0.

Adjournment – Motion by Soper, second by Juhl to adjourn the meeting at 7:35pm. Motion carried 5-0.

The next regular meeting will be May 18, 2020 at 515pm.                                                                                        


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.