Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Public Hearing/Regular Meeting

May 20, 2019


                                                                              May 20, 2019

                                                                   REGULAR MEETING

The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held a Public Hearing/Regular Meeting on Monday, May 20, 2019 at 5:10pm in the High School Media Center.   Board members present were:  Kathy Cornwall, President,  Dr. Cory Hoyer, Vice President,  Melissa Regelstad, Duane Schnell and Sandy Fandel   Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Shane Kalous, Franklin Christensen, Scott Stokes, David McCaulley, Brad Leonard, Lili Jensen, Theresa Nerem, Lisa Schmidt, Lesly Friesner, Jenny Christensen, Laura Rosendahl, Jessica Day, Gordon Juhl, Kathy Foster, Shayla Witzke, Ree Marra, Amy Looft, Brenda Poss, Lauren Hartwig, Kyle Grems, Brenda Reeves, Mindy Hockett, Mark Gruwell, Rachel Anderson, Amber Harris, Ryan Harris, Judi Hoffman, Barb Houseman, Jeff Soper, Jenny Nitchals, Shanna Austin, Kyle Steffen, Nathan Puhl, Cassidy Hatland Maureen Hatland, Shania Murray, Elle Houseman, Michael Houseman, Crystal Clabaugh, Kris Weisman, Andrea Fehlman, Michael Drew, Lorena Brant, Rick Brant, Tyler Ruse, Jessica Ruse, Teresa Gregory, Jackie Sheridan, Tasha Welch, Irene Mayland, Doug Mayland, Julie Brandt, Lucinda Towell, Michelle Kremel, Sandy Jenson, BJ Barbour, Jennifer Astello, Missy Danner, Jennifer Brookhart, Jeff Griffith, Nate Dunlavy, Brent Shatto


                            PUBLIC HEARING

PUBLIC HEARING FY 19 Budget Amendment Hearing – 5:10PM


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Cornwall called the public hearing to order at

   5:10pm.   Board members present were Hoyer, Fandel, Regelstad and Schnell.

Approval of Agenda                                                            Motion by Hoyer, second by Regelstad to approve the agenda as    presented.  Motion carried 5-0

Public Input                                                                          None

FY 2018-19 Budget Amendment                                     Publication reviewed.

Adjourn the Public Hearing                                               Motion by Regelstad, second by Fandel to adjourn the public hearing at                                                                                                    5:11pm.  Motion carried 5-0.

                                                                    REGULAR MEETING – 5:15PM

Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Cornwall called the regular meeting to order at 5:15pm.  Board                                                                                                  members present were Hoyer,  Fandel, Regelstad, and Schnell.

Agenda Approval                                                                Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried 5-0.

Public Input                                                                                                Theresa Gregory addressed the board.

Second Grade Educational Needs                                    Shane Kalous and Tara Paul answered questions that were submitted by 2nd grade parents regarding the current and future educational needs of that grade level.

Consent Agenda                                                                                              Motion by Hoyer, second by Schnell to approve the consent agenda as presented.    Motion carried 5-0.   

 Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

 Minutes from the April 15, 2019 meeting.


Hires –Tony Nath, RWC; Isaac Hanson, Bldgs/Grounds-Smr; Joan Enockson, TAG Teacher; Nicole Craig, Vo Ag Teacher; Jesse Nitchals – Vars Asst Football & Head Track Coach; Sandy Jenson, Summer Transportation; Danielle Hart, MS Teacher, Michael Hart, Tech Dept; Tamara Thompson, MS Teacher

Resignations – Renee Weideman, Brian Hinrichs, Tyler Molacek, Jesse Nitchals (MS Boys Track); Jean Reinking

Transfers – Jenny Nitchals – Alt HS Teacher; Jesse Nitchals, MS Physical Ed/Health; Connie Humble – 5th Grade

              Finance Reports  

Highlights                                                                                                          Mark Gruwell talked about Computer Science in the K-12 system.  Jenny Nitchals gave the board a preview of some of the ways technology is being used currently in ELC’s classrooms.

Europe Trip Opportunity                                                                                          Jennifer Brookhart and Jeff Griffith presented details on an                                   opportunity for a guided tour to Europe to see many WW2 historical sites.

Reports & Information                                       Reports were informational.

Items for Action/Discussion                                             

Roosevelt Playground Drainage                                       Recommended that the district wait and see how it handles the water next spring, as it was an unusual thaw this year.

Board Policy Series 100-104.3 School District              Motion by Fandel, second by Hoyer to approve the policies with changes.  Motion approved 5-0.

Fiber Optics Cable – Roosevelt Building                        Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to approve transferring ownership to ILCC for the Fiber that runs from the high school to Roosevelt effective 5.21.19.                                     Motion carried 5-0.

2018-19 Budget Amendment                                           Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to approve the 2018-19 budget amendment as presented. Motion carried 5-0.

Board Policy Series 300                                                                                      1st Reading – No Action

Woodward Youth 19-20 28 E Agreement                      Motion by Fandel, second by Regelstad to approve the 19-20 28E Agreement with Woodward Youth.      Motion carried 5-0.


Adjournment – Motion by Hoyer, second by Schnell to adjourn the meeting at 6:59pm.   Motion carried 5-0.  The next regular meeting will be June 17, 2019 at 5:15pm.                                                                                        


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.