Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

June Regular Board Meeting Minutes

June 13, 2011


June 13, 2011
The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its regular meeting on Monday, June 13, 2011 at 5:15 P.M. in Room N-208, at the Roosevelt Elementary Building. Board members present were: President Jodie Greig, Mike Karels, Vice President; Molly Anderson, Duane Schnell, Michelle McCoy, , Nancy Anderson.   Others present were Dick Magnuson, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Frank Christenson, High School Principal; Kris Schlievert; Elementary Principal, Bob Grems, RWC Director/Dropout Prevention Coordinator; Mike Tidemann, Ed Funston, Deb Lenertz, Karla Lester, Kyle Prorak
CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL                                              President Greig called the regular meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.  Board  members present were M. Anderson, Karels, Schnell, McCoy, N. Anderson. Absent – Schiltz.
AGENDA APPROVAL                                                           
Motion by Karels second by McCoy to approve the agenda
with an additional hire – Stephanie Nelson.
Motion carried 6-0.
RECOGNITION OF VISITORS                                               President Greig welcomed all those in attendance and had visitors introduce themselves.
PUBLIC INPUT                                                                       There was none.
CONSENT AGENDA                                                              Motion by M. Anderson, second by Karels to approve the consent
                                                                                                Agenda as presented.
                                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
                                                                                                Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:
                                                                                                Minutes from May 9, 2011.
Bills as presented.
1.        Amy Condon, HS English, BA Step 4 - $32,195
2.        Jenny Lichty, FB Cheerleading sponsor, Step 1 - $500
3.        Alex Olesen, RWC - $7.25/hr.
4.        Casey Sievert, RWC - $7.25/hr.
5.        Alex Sievert, RWC - $7.25/hr.
6.        Jackie Soat – MS Night Custodian(Part-time to Full-time)
7.        Sarah Hanson, MS Special Education, Step 1 – BA - $28,730.
8.        Deniese Christensen, Drill Team sponsor – Step 1 - $1,300.
9.        Stephanie Nelson, MA + 16, Step 3 - $39,970, SPED Teacher
1.        Sandy Fandel, HS Nurse
2.        Travis Karsten, Custodian
3.        Sheena Van Roekel, HS English
4.        Joyce Yates Gardner, MS Guidance
1.        Robbie Hall to .5 reading and .5 Reading Interventionist
2.        Anita Helmich – 4th Grade
FINANCES                                                                              Reports were informational. 
A. Administration                                                                   The administrator’s reports were informational.
OTHER ACTION ITEMS                         
A.  Changing Number of School Board Members                    Motion by N. Anderson, second by Karels to have the District’s attorney draft ballot language to
                                                                                                change the number of board members to five.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
B. Nursing Staff Status 2011-12 School year                           Motion by M. Anderson, second by Karels to table any action on the nursing staff status for 2011-12 School Year.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
C. Handbooks                                                                         Motion by Schnell, second byKarels to approve the changes to the HS handbook.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
D. 28 E Agreement – Business Services –A-R CSD                 No Action.
E. Approve 2011-12 Fees                                                       Motion by McCoy, second by N. Anderson to approve the 2011-12 Fees.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
F. Approve UDMO Agreements                                              No Action.
G. Science Textbook Purchase                                                Motion by Karels , second by Schnell to approve the purchase of new science textbooks.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
H. Set Date for Final Bill Paying for FY 11                             Motion by M. Anderson, second by N. Anderson to set special meeting for June 29, 2011 at 12 Noon to approve final payment of bills.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
I. Child’s World McKinley Lease FY 12                                 Motion by M. Anderson , second by Schnell to approve the McKinley Lease for FY 12 with A Child’s World Daycare.
                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.
OTHER BUSINESS                                                                
A. District Meetings IASB                                                       Kate Woods reminded the board of upcoming district meetings and gave them the list of legislative
                                                                                                priorities to review.
B. IASB Legislative Priorities                                                                                                
A.  Negotiations
B. Administrator Contracts
C. Support Staff Salaries 2011-12
President Greig announced that the board will meet as provided in Iowa Code 20.17(3) for a collective bargaining strategy session following adjournment.
Next regular meeting will be on  July 11, 2011 at 5:15 pm
ADJOURNMENT                                                                    Motion by M. Anderson, second by McCoy, to adjourn the meeting at 6:30pm.
Motion carried 6-0.
___________________________________                                                          _____________________________________
Jodie Greig, President                                                                                                      Kate Woods, Board Secretary


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.