Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

August Regular Board Meeting Minutes

August 15, 2011



August 15, 2011



The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its regular meeting on Monday, August 15, 2011 at 5:15 P.M. in Room N-208, at the Roosevelt Elementary Building. Board members present were: President Jodie Greig, Mike Karels, Vice President; Don Schiltz, Nancy Anderson, Michelle McCoy, M. Anderson.   Others present were Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Frank Christenson; HS Principal, Steve McCauley, Jason Kollasch, Kris Schlievert; Elementary Principal, Deb Lenertz; MS Principal, Brian DeJong; Asst. HS Principal/Activities Director, Dave Swartz- EDN, Ed Funston – KILR, Lili Jensen, Yvette Clabaugh, Deserie Russell



CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL                                              President Greig called the regular meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.  Board members present were Schiltz, Karels, McCoy, N. Anderson, M. Anderson. Absent – Schnell.

AGENDA APPROVAL                                                           

Motion by Karels, second by M. Anderson to approve the agenda with the deletion of item 10.15 Bread and Milk Bid.

Motion carried 6-0.


RECOGNITION OF VISITORS                                               President Greig welcomed all those in attendance and had visitors introduce themselves.


PUBLIC INPUT                                                                       Yvette Clabaugh and Deserie Russell addressed the board concerning the elimination of bus stops.


CONSENT AGENDA                                                              Motion by M. Anderson, second by N. Anderson to approve the consent Agenda as presented.

                                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.


                                                                                                Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

                                                                                                Minutes from July 19, 2011.


Bills as presented.


1.        Ms. Jessica Bates, MS Reading Interventionist, BA + 24, Step 4 $35,375.

2.        Mr. Jason Holt, Agriculture Teacher/FFA Advisor – BA +16, Step 11 ¾ FTE-$34,967

3.        Ms. Jenny Nitchals – Football Cheerleading Sponsor – Step 1 $500

4.        Mr. Mark Reardon – Freshman Football Coach – Step 4 $2,100

5.        Mr. Mason Sander – RWC Lifeguard - $8.00/hour


1.        Ms. Jenny Lichty – HS Agriculture

2.        Mr. Benjamin Ullom, HS In School Suspension

3.        Ms. Penny Swanson – RWC Program Coordinator

4.        Ms. Renee Weideman – Kitchen Staff


FINANCES                                                                              Reports were informational. 



 Administration                                                                        The administrator’s reports were informational.




Legislative Priorities                                                                Motion by M. Anderson, second by N. Anderson to approve the following five legislative priorities: 10, 3, 1,6.

                                                                                                 Motion carried 6-0.

School Auction                                                                        Motion by M. Anderson, second by Schiltz to approve Clarken Auctioneering to help with the School Auction.

Motion carried 6-0.


Board Policy                                                                            2nd Reading of Board Policy 102 Equal Educational Opportunity.

No Action.



1.        Bread & Milk Bids

2.        Bus Routes

3.        Sale of Garages

4.        Policies

Next regular meeting will be September 19, 2011 at 5:15pm


ADJOURNMENT                                                                    Motion by Karels, second by Schiltz, to adjourn the meeting at 6:04pm.

Motion carried 6-0.




___________________________________                                                          _____________________________________

Jodie Greig, President                                                                                                      Kate Woods, Board Secretary


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.