Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

August 15, 2022 Board Meeting Minutes

August 16, 2022


                                                                                      August 15, 2022

                                                                       REGULAR MEETING

The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its Regular Meeting on Monday, August 15, 2022, at 5:15 p.m. in the High School Library/Media Center. Board members present were Tony Condon, President; Jeff Soper, Vice-President; Sandy Fandel, Gordon Juhl and Kathy Beernink.  Other’s present were Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer; Dave Swartz – EDN, Jenny Christensen, Steph Wheatley, Megan Miller                                                                                          

 Regular Meeting - 5:15 p.m.


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                    President Condon called the regular meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.  Board members present were Beernink, Fandel, and Juhl, Soper.


Agenda Approval                                                              Motion by Fandel, second by Beernink to approve the agenda with additional hire of Frank Christenson, High School Teacher.

Motion carried 5-0.


Public Input                                                                         None


Consent Agenda                                                                 Motion by Soper, second by Juhl to approve the consent agenda as presented.   Motion carried: 5-0.           


Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

                                                                                                Minutes from the July 18 and July 25, 2022 meetings.

                                                                                                Bills, Hires – MS Teacher Associates – Adam Edwards, Lisa Mustard; Demoney Teacher Associates – Paisley Williams, Izzy Stevens, Jess Axler, Nick Leonard. Middle School Teachers – Sandy Gappa- PE; Katie Winter - ELL.  High School Teachers – Kameron DeMoss – HS Vocal, Frank Christenson 5/8 Government. Resignation – Thomas Dunkle.   Finance - Reports.


Reports/Information                                                         None


Highlights                                                                            None


Items for Action/Discussion


CACFP Agreement – UDMO                                         Motion by Beernink, second by Fandel to approve the 22-23

CACFP Agreement with UDMO. Motion carried 5-0.

IASB Special Delegate Assembly                                  Sandy Fandel, as the IASB Board delegate updated the board

                                                                                                on the upcoming Special Assembly Delegate that will be

                                                                                                voting on whether or not the nine member IASB board should

                                                                                                have the authority to decide to join the National Association of

                                                                                                School Boards or join an alternate national association.  The

                                                                                                Zoom meeting will be held on September 13, 2022 at 6 p.m.

Board Policy 203 - Board of Directors Conflict of Interest                  Motion by Soper, second by Beernink to

waive the 2nd & 3rd reading and approve the changes to board policy 203, increasing the amount a board                            member can be paid for services or goods up to $20,000.

Motion carried 5-0. 


2022-23 Substitute Pay                                                    Motion by Condon, second by Beernink to increase

                                                                                                Teacher Substitute Pay to $140/day for short term subbing. 

                                                                                                $200/day for long term positions (more than 10 consecutive

                                                                                                days in the same position). $200/day for ELC retirees without

                                                                                                the 10 consecutive day requirement.

                                                                                                Ayes - Beernink, Soper, Juhl, Condon, Nays - None, Abstain -

                                                                                                Fandel. Motion carried.


Adjournment                                                                       Motion by Juhl, second by Fandel to adjourn the meeting at

                                                                                                5:44 p.m.  Motion carried 5-0.

Next regular board meeting is scheduled for September 19, 2022 at 5:15 p.m.

« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.