Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Annual/Organizational Meeting

September 18, 2017


September 18, 2017


The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its annual & organizational meeting on Monday, September 18, 2017 at 5:15 P.M. in the High School Media Center.  Board members present were:  Kathy Miller-Cornwall, Vice-President; Duane Schnell, Dr. Cory Hoyer, Melissa Regelstad, Jodie Greig, Sandy Fandel.  Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Brad Leonard, HS Principal; David McCaulley, MS Principal; Shane Kalous, Elementary Principal; Lili Jensen, Frank Christenson, Curriculum/Alt. HS Director; Rick Gebel, Transportation Director; Dave Swartz – EDN; Jennifer Brookhart, Amanda Zylstra, Melissa Leonard, Kyle Steffen, Lili Jensen, Jessica Sly, Deborah Gruwell, Nick Gruhlke, Alyssa Weir, Connie Humble, Reeann Marra, Natalie Dettmann, Jessica Ruse, Emily Lair, Sarah Raymond


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                              President Cornwall called the annual meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.  Board members present were Schnell, Regelstad, Hoyer, Greig.

Public Input                                                                             None

Agenda Approval                                                                     Motion by Greig, second by Regelstad to approve the agenda as presented.

Motion carried 5-0.


Approval of Consent Agenda                                                   Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to approve the consent agenda as presented. 

                                                                                       Motion carried 5-0. 

Items approved under the consent agenda included Minutes from 8.21.17 meeting, Bills, Hires-Austin Egeland- RWC Staff, Finance Reports

Examine Financial Accounting Books for FY 2017                 Motion by Greig, second by Schnell to approve the Financial Accounting Books for FY 2017.  Motion carried 5-0.

Accept the Abstract of Election                                                Motion by Regelstad, second by Greig to accept the Abstract of Election.

 Motion carried 5-0.

Recognition of Retiring & Outgoing Board Members               Superintendent Paul thanked Jodie Greig for her years of service to the district.

Adjournment of Retiring Board                                                Motion by Greig, second by Hoyer to adjourn the annual meeting at 5:20pm.

 Motion carried 5-0.

Organizational Meeting

Kate Woods, president pro tem, called the meeting to order at 5:21pm.

Swearing in of Newly Elected Board Members                        Kate Woods administered the oath of office to Duane Schnell and Sandy Fandel.

Election of Officers                                                                 Motion by Schnell to nominate Kathy Cornwall for president and to cease nominations, second by Hoyer.          Motion carried 5-0.

Swearing in of President       Oath of office was given to Kathy Cornwall.

Schnell to nominate Dr. Cory Hoyer for Vice President, second by Fandel.  Motion carried 5-0.

Swearing in of Vice President          Oath of office was given to Dr. Cory Hoyer.

Highlights         New teachers were introduced to the board.

Reports/Information                                                       Administrator reports were informational.

Items for Action/Discussion                                                   

New Business

Approval of Salary Lane Advancements                                  Motion by Regelstad, second by Schnell to approve the salary lane advancements as presented.  Motion carried 5-0.

SBRC Request                                                                          Motion by Hoyer, second by Fandel,  to approve the SBRC Request for allowable growth for the Special Education deficit in the amount of $406,098.00.                                       Motion carried 5-0.


2016-17 Board Meeting Dates                                                 Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to approve the following dates for board meetings for the 2017-18 school year.  October 16, 2017; November 20,2017; December 18,2017; January 15, 2018; February 12, 2018; March 19, 2018; April 16, 2018; May 21, 2018; June 18, 2018:  July17, 2017; August 21, 2017; September 18, 2017.      Motion carried 5-0.


Appointment, Depositories & Limits                                       Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to approve the appointments, depositories & limits as presented:  Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer; Legal Counsel, Fitzgibbons, Kevin Sander; Level 1 & 2 Investigators, Robert Grems & Brad Leonard – Level 1; Brent Shatto – Level 2; Official Newspaper, Estherville News; RWC Committee, School – Paul, McCoy, Woods, City – Seylar, Jensen, Clayton; Community – Johnson, Heywood, Stokes.  LAN Representative – Kathy Cornwall; Negotiations – Duane Schnell, Cory Hoyer; Emmet Co Conference Board Regelstad.  Depository Limits:                                                  Northstar Bank - $12M, Bank Plus - $500K, Bankers Trust - $3M, Northwest Bank - $2.5M, Employees Credit Union $250K.

Early Graduation Requests                                                      Motion by Regelstad, second by Hoyer to approve the early graduation requests pending completion of required courses.  Motion carried 5-0.

Board Policy Series 603 Instructional Curriculum                   1st Reading – No Action

Adjournment – Motion by Schnell, second by Regelstad  to adjourn the meeting at 6:01pm.  Motion carried 5-0.  The next regular meeting will be October 16, 2017.



« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.