Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Annual & Organizational Meeting

September 19, 2016


September 19, 2016


The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its annual meeting on Monday, September 19, 2016 at 5:15 P.M. in the High School Media Center.  Board members present were:  Kathy Miller-Cornwall,Vice President;  Duane Schnell,  Cory Hoyer, Melissa Regelstad   Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer,  Brad Leonard, HS Principal; David McCaulley, MS Principal; Shane Kalous, Elementary Principal; Lili Jensen, Frank Christenson, Curriculum/Alt. HS Director, Andy Umthun(5:24), Activities Director;  Kayla Vermedahl, Rick Gebel, Lauren Morehead, Connie Humble, Craig Began, Jean Herrick, Carmen Balado, Katherine Wilson, Christa Klingbeil, Melissa Leonard, Emily Prilipp, Lacey Kilgore, Abby Gardiner, Dave Swartz - EDN

Call to Order/Roll Call                                                              Vice President Cornwall called the annual meeting to order at 5:14 p.m.  Board members present were Schnell, Regelstad, Hoyer.  Absent:  Jodie Greig

Public Input                                                                             None

Agenda Approval                                                                                                   Motion by Schnell,second by Hoyer to approve the agenda as presented.

Motion carried 4-0.                                                                                   

Approval of Minutes                                                                                                 Motion by Hoyer, second by Schnell to approve the minutes as presented.

                                                                                                 Motion carried 4-0.                                                                                                

Election of Officers                                                                 Jodie Greig(via letter given to Superintendent Paul),nominated Kathy Cornwall to serve as president.  It was seconded by Duane Schnell.  Motion carried 4-0.

Swearing in of President                                                                                         Oath of office was given to Kathy Cornwall.

Cory Hoyer nominated Duane Schnell for Vice President, Schnell declined nomination.  Schnell nominated Cory Hoyer for Vice President. It was seconded by Regelstad.  Motion carried 4-0.

Swearing in of Vice President                                                                                 Oath of office was given to Cory Hoyer.

Examination of Financial Accounting Books for FY 16           Kate Woods presented the list of depositories and balances as required.

Adjournment                                                                                                                   Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to adjourn the Annual Meeting at 5:22pm.  Motion carried 4-0.


Call to Order                                                                         President Cornwall called the meeting to order at 5:23pm.

Approval of Consent Agenda                                             Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:


                  Finance Reports

                  Hires – Alex Weihe, RWC Land/Engergizer Plus; A.J. Edwards, RWC,  Jean                     Herrick, Contest Speech $2,423.00; Mr. Don Martindale Head Boys                                     Basketball Coach – $4,560.00.

                  Resignations – Mary Winter, Theresa Versteeg, Michael Lehman.

                 Highlights                     New teachers were introduced to the board.

Reports/Information                                                             Administrator reports were informational.

Items for Action/Discussion                                                   

Unfinished Business

Board Policies – 507.1 – 507.2                                                                                 2nd Reading of Policies 507-1 – 507.2E3. – No Action. 

 New Business

Approval of Salary Lane Advancements                                  Motion by Regelstad, second by Schnell to approve the salary lane advancements as presented.  Motion carried 4-0.

SBRC Request                                                                          Motion by Hoyer, second by Regelstad, to approve the SBRC Request for allowable growth for the Special Education deficit in the amount of $544,704.00.                                     Motion carried 4-0.

2016-17 Board Meeting Dates                                                 Motion by Regelstad, second by Hoyer  to approve the following dates for board meetings for the 2016-17 school year.  October 17, 2016; November 21,2016; December 19,2016; January 16, 2017; February 13, 2017; March 20, 2017; April 17, 2017; May 15, 2017; June 19, 2017: July 17, 2017; August 21, 2017; September 18, 2017.   Motion carried 4-0.

ILCC Career Connect Programs/Course Agreements                Motion by Hoyer, second by Schnell to approve the agreement and 5 year fee scale up notification between Estherville Lincoln Central and Iowa Lakes Community College as presented.   Motion carried 4-0.

Iowa Drug and Alcohol Testing Program Fee                           Motion by Schnell, second by Regelstad to approve the request to be a part of the IDATP program for the 2016-17 school year.  Motion carried 4-0.


Adjournment – Motion by Schnell, second by Regelstad  to adjourn the meeting at 6:19pm.  Motion carried 4-0.  The next regular meeting will be October 17, 2016.


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.