Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

Annual & Organization Meeting

September 17, 2018


September 17, 2018


The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its annual & organizational meeting on Monday, September 17, 2018 at 5:15 P.M. in the High School Media Center.  Board members present were:  Kathy Miller-Cornwall, Vice-President;, Dr. Cory Hoyer, Duane Schnell, Melissa Regelstad,  Sandy Fandel.  Others present were:  Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Brad Leonard, HS Principal; David McCaulley, MS Principal; Shane Kalous, Elementary Principal; Lili Jensen, Frank Christenson, Curriculum/Alt. HS Director; Robert Grems, RWC Director; Dave Swartz – EDN; Lacey Kilgore, Tiffany Plummer, Samantha Hagen, Megan Miller, Kim Sorbo, Melissa Leonard, Kyle Steffen, Sarah Hanson, Grant Thomas, Bethany Phillips, Alison Johnson, Jesse Nitchals, Robyn Swisher


Call to Order/Roll Call                                                       President Cornwall called the annual meeting to order at 5:15 p.m.  Board members present were Schnell, Fandel, Hoyer. Absent: Regelstad

Public Input                                                                          None


Agenda Approval                                                                Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to approve the agenda as presented.

Motion carried 4-0.


Approval of Consent Agenda                                            Motion by Hoyer, second by Fandel to approve the consent agenda as presented. 

                                                                                        Motion carried 4-0.            

                                                                                                Items approved under the consent agenda included Minutes from 8.20.18 meeting, Bills, Hires – Ms. Brooke Clarke-RWC, Ms. Jordyn Moore-RWC, Mrs. Amy Tischer – Elementary Teacher Associate, Mr. Jesse Nitchals – MS Boys Track, Ms. Paige Stoliker-HS Teacher Associate, Ms. Jennifer Hough, RWC-Assistant Director of Marketing/Business, Ms. Molly Struve-RWC Instructor, Ms. Valerie Estrada, ELL Teacher. Resignation – Ms. Lindsi Hruska – HS Sped Teachers.  Finance Reports


Examine Financial Accounting Books for FY 2018     Board reviewed depository balances and CAR 2018 reports.



Adjournment of Retiring Board                                       Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer to adjourn the annual meeting at 5:18pm.

                                                                                                Motion carried 4-0.


Organizational Meeting

                                                                                                Kate Woods, president pro tem, called the meeting to order at 5:18pm.


Election of Officers                                                             Motion by Schnell to nominate Kathy Cornwall for president and to cease nominations, second by Hoyer.

                                                                                                Motion carried 4-0.


Swearing in of President                                                    Oath of office was given to Kathy Cornwall.


Motion by Schnell to nominate Dr. Cory Hoyer for Vice President, second by Fandel.  Motion carried


Swearing in of Vice President                                           Oath of office was given to Dr. Cory Hoyer.


Highlights                                                                              New teachers were introduced to the board.


Reports/Information                                                           Administrator reports were informational.


Items for Action/Discussion                                             

Unfinished Business

Board Polices – Series 700-Non Instructional/Business Services

                                                                                                Motion by Hoyer, second by Fandel to approve Series 700 as presented.  Motion

                                                                                                carried 4-0.




New Business

Approval of Salary Lane Advancements                       Motion by Fandel, second by Schnell to approve the salary lane advancements as presented.  Motion carried 4-0.


SBRC Request                                                                     Motion by Fandel, second by Hoyer, to approve the SBRC Request for allowable growth for the Special Education deficit in the amount of $481,594

                                                                                                Motion carried 4-0.


2018-19 Board Meeting Dates                                          Motion by Hoyer, second by Schnell to approve the following dates for board meetings for the 2018-19 school year.  October 15, 2018; November 19,2018; December 17,2018; January 21, 2019; February 11, 2019; March 18, 2019; April 15, 2019; May 20, 2019; June 17, 2019, July15, 2019; August 19, 2019; September 16, 2019.          

              Motion carried 4-0.


Appointment, Depositories & Limits                               Motion by Schnell, second by Fandel to approve the appointments, depositories & limits as presented:  Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer; Legal Counsel, Fitzgibbons, Kevin Sander; Level 1 & 2 Investigators, Robert Grems & Brad Leonard – Level 1; Brent Shatto – Level 2; Official Newspaper, Estherville News; RWC Committee, School – Paul, McCoy, Woods, City – Seylar, Jensen, Clayton; Community – Johnson, Heywood, Stokes.  LAN Representative – Kathy Cornwall; Negotiations – Duane Schnell, Cory Hoyer; Emmet Co Conference Board-Fandel.  Depository Limits:

                                                                                                Northstar Bank - $8M, Bank Plus - $50K, Bankers Trust - $5M, Northwest Bank - $8M


Set Public Hearing- Land Trade                                     Motion by Hoyer, second by Fandel to set a public hearing on October 15, 2018 at

                                                                                                5:10pm in the High School Media Center for the purpose of trading Lincoln Park for

                                                                                                the Hess Limberg Baseball Field.  Motion carried 4-0.


Items for next month’s agenda – Certified Enrollment, Snow Removal Bids, Land Trade and Roosevelt Asbestos Abatement/Demolotion.


Adjournment – Motion by Schnell, second by Hoyer  to adjourn the meeting at 5:53pm.  Motion carried 4-0.  The next regular meeting will be October 15, 2018.


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.