Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District
Skip to main content
Search the website form (desktop)

4.16.12 Regular Board Meeting Minutes

April 16, 2012



April 16, 2012


The Estherville Lincoln Central Board of Education held its regular meeting on Monday, April 16, 2012 at 5:15 P.M. in the High School Media Center. Board members present were:  Jodie Greig, President, Mike Karels, Vice President; Nancy Anderson, Kathy Miller-Cornwall, Michelle McCoy, Duane Schnell.   Others present were: Tara Paul, Superintendent; Kate Woods, Board Secretary/Treasurer, Deb Lenertz; MS Principal, Brian DeJong; Activities Director, Mike Tiedeman(5:20)- EDN, Lili Jensen,  Frank Christensen; HS Principal, Rick Gebel, Scott Walters, Tony Condon, Jody Condon, Deb Seylar


CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL                                              President Greig called the regular meeting to order at 5:17 p.m.  Board members present were, N. Anderson, McCoy, Karels, Schnell, Miller-Cornwall. Absent: Schiltz

AGENDA APPROVAL                                                            Motion by Anderson, second by Schnell to approve the agenda with the deletion of the closed session agenda items.  

                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.

RECOGNITION OF VISITORS                                               President Greig welcomed all those in attendance and had visitors introduce themselves.

PUBLIC INPUT                                                                       There was none.

CONSENT AGENDA                                                              Motion by Karels, second by McCoy to approve the consent Agenda as presented.

                                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0. 

                                                                                                Items approved under the consent agenda are as follows:

                                                                                                Minutes from the March 12, 19,26, and April 2, 2012 meetings.



1.        Robyn Hanson-RWC Cycling Instructor – P/T @ $11/hr.

2.        Wendell Pelts – Temp Summer Help - $10/hr.

3.        David Nitchals – Temp Summary Help - $10/hr.

4.        Matt Burrell – Temp P/T Summer Help - $7.25/hr.

5.        Chris Seylar – Temp P/T Summer Help - $7.25/hr.


1.        Ms. Amber Pruin from MS PE to K-4 PE

2.        Ms. Kristi Frederick from MS ESL to 3rd Grade Classroom

3.        Ms. Mindy Brechwald from HS Guidance to HS Classroom Health Teacher


1.        Ms. Betty Devary, Elem TA, end of 2011-12 school year.

2.        Ms. Janie Clark – HS SPED Teacher, immediately.

3.        Ms. Lana Torreson – Family Consumer Science, end of 2011-12 school year.

FINANCES                                                                              Reports were informational.

REPORTS/INFORMATION                                                     Administrator reports were informational. The board was given a Smart Board presentation by Keri Swedin, Deb Seylar and Anita Helmich.

ITEMS FOR ACTION/DISCUSSION                                      

New Business                                                                         

Budget Amendment Hearing                                                    Motion by Karels, second by Schnell to set FY 2012 Budget Amendment Hearing for

                                                                                                May 21, 2012 at 5:10pm.

                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.

RWC Board Appointment                                                        Motion by Anderson, second by Schnell to approve Mr. Scott Stokes as community member

                                                                                                on the RWC Board. 

                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.

Director District Boundaries                                                    Motion by Karels, second by McCoy to approve the worksheet for Director District Boundaries as set forth in Iowa Code Section 275.23A(1). 

                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.

Certify 2012 Senior Class Graduates                                       Motion by Schnell, second by Karels to approve the 2012 Senior Class list as presented.

                                                                                                Motion carried 6-0.

Board Policy Series 200                                                           First reading of board policies 200.1 – 200.3, 201. 202.1- 202.4.

Superintendent’s Annual Review                                             Information on Superintendent’s evaluation process.

Set special meeting for the purpose of hiring an

Elementary Principal.                                                               Motion by Karels, second by Schnell to set a special meeting for Monday, April 23, 2012 at 12:00 noon.

.                                                                                               Motion carried 6-0.                                                                                                

President Greig announced that after adjournment the board would meet in an exempt session to discuss negotiations strategy.

Adjournment – Motion by McCoy, second by Anderson to adjourn the meeting at 6:34pm. Motion carried 6-0. The next regular meeting will be May 21, 2012 at 5:15pm.




___________________________________                                                          _____________________________________

     Jodie Greig, President                                                                                        Kate Woods, Board Secretary


« Back

Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, physical attributes, physical or mental ability or disability, military affiliation, political party preference, socioeconomic status, or familial status. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to Mrs. Tara Paul, Superintendent, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

La Escuela Comunitaria Estherville Lincoln Central no descrimina basandose en el raza, color, credo, origen nacional, religion, sexo, identidad de genero, edad, discapacidad, estatus marital, orientacion sexual, atributos fisicos, discapacidad o capacidad mental, afiliacion militar, preferencias por partido politico, estatus socioeconomico, o estatus familiar. Consultas o quejas pueden ser dirigidas a la Sra. Tara Paul, Superintendente, 1814 7th Avenue, Estherville, Iowa 51334. 712-362-2692

© 2022Estherville Lincoln Central Community School District. All rights reserved.